CU Law School Announces Alumni Award Recipients

CU Law School announced its 2020 Alumni Award recipients, to be recognized March 12.

The award recipients are: Justice Nathan Coats, William Lee Knous Award.

Colorado Law’s highest alumni honor will be awarded to Colorado Supreme Court Chief Justice Nathan Coats in recognition of outstanding achievement and sustained service to Colorado Law.

Steve Zwick, Distinguished Achievement — Public Sector Zwick retired in 2018 after 40 years in public service and 24 years as the San Miguel county attorney in Telluride, Colorado. Among his many accomplishments as San Miguel county attorney are incorporating the town of Mountain Village, negotiating a way to finance a then-new gondola system, and preserving the 600-acre Valley Floor. To commemorate his retirement, the San Miguel County Board of Commissioners established Feb. 9, 2018, as Steven J. Zwick Day across San Miguel County

Mindy Sooter, Distinguished Achievement—Private Practice Sooter is a partner and trial lawyer in WilmerHale’s intellectual property litigation group. She holds degrees in electrical engineering and telecommunications and has eight years of experience as an engineer in the computer science industry.

W. Harold “Sonny” Flowers Jr., Distinguished Achievement — Solo/Small Firm Practitioner Flowers is a litigator with Hurth Sisk & Blakemore in Boulder. His practice is concentrated in litigation, including plaintiffs’ personal injury, professional malpractice, criminal defense, and commercial litigation. He has represented hundreds of clients in the areas of criminal law from minor traffic offenses to death penalty cases.

Dean James Anaya will also present two Dean’s Choice Awards, recognizing exceptional contributions to Colorado Law:

Kristin Bronson, Dean Edward C. King Making a Difference AwardBronson is the city attorney for the City and County of Denver. Appointed by Mayor Michael Hancock in October 2016, Bronson provides policy and legal advice to the mayor, city council, city agencies and departments, all city boards and commissions, the city auditor, and the clerk and recorder. She is the final decision maker on critical legal decisions facing the city and manages a public law firm of over 220 attorneys, paralegals, victim advocates, and staff.

Gordon Gamm, Richard Schaden Adopted Alumnus AwardGamm is a retired attorney and philanthropist. A graduate of Tulane Law School, Gamm grew up in Louisiana and practiced law in Kansas City before moving to Boulder in 1993. Since making Boulder home, he has adopted the University of Colorado as his own.


Greenberg Traurig added Christopher Thorne in Denver as of counsel in the energy and natural resources, real estate and environmental practices. Thorne joined the firm from Holland & Hart and previously practiced with Gibson Dunn & Crutcher.

Thorne represents energy companies, real estate developers, industrial water users, municipal water providers and agricultural water users in water related transactions and in water court litigation and related administrative proceedings involving the adjudication of water rights, changes of water rights, complex plans for augmentation and water rights disputes. Thorne received a law degree from CU Law School and a bachelor’s degree from Colorado College.


Husch Blackwell announced Wednesday that Malia Rogers has joined the firm as an associate in its data privacy, cybersecurity and breach response and intellectual property practices.

Rogers has experience in eCommerce marketing and business development. She focuses on privacy and cybersecurity issues and provides counsel to clients on issues regarding California Consumer Privacy Act compliance. Rogers received a law degree from Villanova University Charles Widger School of Law and a bachelor’s degree from Boston College.

Moye White announced Oct. 28 that Diana Sada joined the firm as an associate in the litigation section. Prior to joining Moye White, Sada served as a deputy district attorney for the 18th

Judicial District Attorney’s Office in Arapahoe County. Before joining the 18th Judicial District, Sada worked at a Denver-based law firm that focuses on civil litigation and personal injury, and an Orlando-based law firm that handles complex construction-defect litigation and eminent domain. Since 2016, Sada has also served as an adjunct faculty member at the Sturm College of Law of University of Denver’s Center for Advocacy.

Sada received a law degree from the University of Denver Sturm College of Law and a bachelor’s degree from Rollins College.


The 1st Judicial District Nominating Commission has nominated six candidates for two district court judgeships: One created pursuant to Senate Bill 19-043, effective Jan. 1 and the other by the retirement of Judge Margie Enquist, effective Jan. 2.

Nominees Amy Cardone of Golden; Linda Chalat of Evergreen; Russell Klein of Arvada; Ruth Moore of Conifer; and Rachel Oliver and Lindsay VanGilder, both of Lakewood were selected by the commission on Oct. 25.

Under the Colorado constitution, the governor has 15 days from Oct. 28 to appoint two of the nominees as district court judges for the 1st Judicial District (Gilpin and Jefferson counties).

The 2nd Judicial District Nominating Commission has nominated six candidates for two district court judgeships created pursuant to Senate Bill 19-043, effective Jan. 1. Nominees Joyce Akhahenda, Lisa Arnolds, Nikea Bland, Anita Schutte, Michael Song and William Trachman, all of Denver, were selected by the commission on Oct. 28.

Under the Colorado constitution, the governor has 15 days from Oct. 29 to appoint two of the nominees as district court judges for the 2nd Judicial District (Denver County).

Comments regarding any of the nominees may be sent via e-mail to the governor at [email protected]

The 10th Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet Dec. 3 at the Pueblo Combined Court to interview and select nominees for appointment by the governor to the office of district judge for the 10th Judicial District (Pueblo County). The vacancy will be created by the retirement of Judge Jill Mattoon. The vacancy will occur on Feb. 8.

Applications must be submitted by 4 p.m. Nov. 20. Late applications will not be considered. Any person wishing to suggest a candidate to fill the vacancy may do so by 4 p.m. Nov. 13.

The members of the nominating commission for the 10th Judicial District are: James Whitmire, Gloria Gutierrez, Clayton Kettelkamp, Lisha McKinley Coultrip, and Zane Grant, all of Pueblo; and Keri Williams and Sharon Swerdfeger, both of Pueblo West.

Good For You

Holland & Hart announced that partner Steve Masciocchi was inducted as a Fellow of the American Academy of Appellate Lawyers on October 25 at the AAAL’s 2019 Fall Meeting.

The firm also announced that Holland & Hart partner Michael Drapkin, who also leads the firm’s electronics and computer patent practice, has joined the board of directors of the American Intellectual Property Law Association. •

Previous articleCourt Opinions – Oct 28, 2019
Next articleNLRB Upholds Restrictions on Employees’ Speech to Media