Local Firms Announce New Attorneys, Best Lawyers Recognitions; Second Judicial District Announces Vacancy

Have an announcement for Law Week Colorado’s people section? Let us know.  

Law Firm Updates

Davis Graham & Stubbs announced Aug. 23 Brian Annes rejoined the firm as of counsel in the energy and mining group. His practice will continue to have an emphasis on upstream and midstream transactional matters in the oil and gas industry. Prior to rejoining DGS, Annes served as counsel for a Denver-based Quantum Energy Partners portfolio company. Annes’ experience includes navigating complex transactions and negotiating various agreements and deal structures. Annes received his law degree from the University of Wyoming College of Law.

Davis Graham & Stubbs announced Aug. 24 Shane Niebergall joined the firm as a partner in the technology transactions and intellectual property law group. His practice will continue to have an emphasis on intellectual property law and patent prosecution. Niebergall brings more than 25 years of experience in intellectual property law, emphasizing U.S.-based and international property counseling, litigation and patent prosecution. Niebergall received his law degree from Creighton University School of Law.

Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck announced Aug. 24 Chloe Mickel, a shareholder in the firm’s litigation department, was appointed chair of the executive council of the Colorado Bar Association’s construction law section. The section serves attorneys who represent owners, developers, architects, engineers, prime contractors, subcontractors and suppliers. It also presents CLEs and provides networking opportunities to members. 

The Judiciary 

The 2nd Judicial District Nominating Commission announced Aug. 24 it will meet Oct. 11  to interview and select nominees for appointment by the governor to the office of district judge for the 2nd Judicial District. The vacancy will be created by the retirement of Judge Shelley Gilman. The vacancy will occur Dec. 1. To be eligible, the applicant must be a qualified elector of the 2nd Judicial District at the time of investiture and must have been admitted to the practice of law in Colorado for five years. For more information click here. The completed application must be e-mailed no later than 4 p.m. Sept. 15. 

The Colorado Judicial Department announced Aug. 25 it has opened the application period for fiscal year 2023-24 grants from the Underfunded Courthouse Facility Cash Fund to provide supplemental funding for courthouse facilities projects in the Colorado counties with the most limited resources. To be eligible for grants, counties must meet at least two of four criteria set in the statute: counties whose total population is below the median among all Colorado counties; counties in which per-capita income is below the state median; counties in which property tax revenues are below the state median; and counties in which the population living below the federal poverty line is above the state median. Application details, rules and other information on the grants can be found hereGrant applications must be received by 5 p.m. Sept. 29. Questions can be directed to [email protected].


Sherman & Howard announced Aug. 17 that 74 of its attorneys were recognized by Best Lawyers® in 2024. A total of 57 attorneys were selected by their peers for inclusion in the 2024 edition of The Best Lawyers in America®, and 17 attorneys were selected for inclusion in the 2024 edition of Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch®. For the Best Lawyers®, four attorneys from the firm’s Colorado Springs office and 47 attorneys from the firm’s Denver office were recognized. For Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch®, one attorney from the firm’s Colorado Springs office and 15 attorneys from the firm’s Denver office were recognized. Five of the firm’s Colorado lawyers were recognized as 2024 “Lawyer of the Year” — Rebecca Fischer (real estate law), Garth Jensen (corporate governance law/securities/capital markets law), Gordon Netzorg (banking/finance law), Mark Williams (technology law) and David Wilson (arbitration).

Fortis Law Partners announced Aug. 17 that nine of the firm’s attorneys have been honored with inclusion on the 2024 U.S. News – Best Lawyers in America® list. The firm has half its full-time attorneys featured on the list. Best Lawyers® recognized Fortis Law Partners’ co-founders Julie Herzog and Christine Lamb for the fourth year running while naming partners Julian Izbiky and Elizabeth Hartsel for the second consecutive year. Partner Andrew Comer was honored for the first time. The Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch®  list included Fortis attorneys Lenora Plimpton, Michael Annerino, Charlie Carlin and Dustin Rickett

Coan, Payton & Payne announced Aug. 18 that attorneys G. Coan, Michael Payne, Fritz Ganz, James Stouffer, Richard Hess Jr., Steven Mulligan and John Madden III were selected by their peers for the 2024 Edition of Best Lawyers®. Amanda Huston received a 2024 Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch® recognition.

Woods Aitken announced Aug. 21 that 21 of the firm’s attorneys were selected by their peers for Best Lawyers® 2024. In addition, nine Woods Aitken attorneys were named to Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch®. For the firm’s Denver office, Best Lawyers® recognized Colin Baumchen, Alvin Cohen, Daniel Gross, Joel Heusinger and Kerry Kester for construction law and Kory George for commercial litigation. Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch® also recognized Laura DePetro, Abigail Frame and Amanda Hoberg for commercial litigation and Sarah Mielke for construction law from the Denver office.

Holland & Hart announced Aug. 22 that 92 of the firm’s Colorado lawyers have been recognized in the 2023 Edition of Best Lawyers®, while 43 were included in the 2023 Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch®. In addition, this year’s rankings include five Best Lawyers® “Lawyer of the Year“ recognitions in Colorado: Brenda Berg (employee benefits law), Charles Cotter (mergers and acquisitions law), J. Marcus Painter (real estate law), Lucy Stark (corporate compliance law) and Thorvald Nelson (communications law). For a complete listing of lawyers named click here.

Previous articleBoulder Attorney John Echohawk Recognized for Career of Civil Rights Work
Next articleCourt Opinion: 10th Circuit Court of Appeals Opinion for Aug. 25


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here